Effective October 1st, Maryland’s “Move Over” Law expanded to include service vehicles. According to the Maryland Department of Transportation (MDOT), the law now includes transportation, service and utility vehicles and waste and recycling trucks with yellow or amber flashing lights or signal devices. These vehicles join the list of previously protected vehicles, which include emergency response vehicles, law enforcement vehicles and tow trucks.
The law requires that rear-approaching drivers must move into another lane when any protected vehicle is stopped or parked along the highway. If the drive is unable to change lanes due to traffic, the driver must slow their vehicle to a reasonable speed that is safe for the existing conditions caused by the protected vehicle.
A violation of the “Move Over” law is a misdemeanor, but fines and license points are accessed.
- Standard violation – $110 fine plus 1 point against driver’s license
- If violation contributes to crash – $150 fine plus 3 points against driver’s license
- If violation results in death or serious injury – $750 fine
Stay safe, be alert and move over! For more information, read the full MDOT article here.