Sending or receiving a text takes a driver's eyes from the road for an average of 4.6 seconds, the equivalent-at 55 mph-of driving the length of an entire football field, BLIND. (Source: Virginia Tech Transportation Institute)
We know that hand held devices have been banned for several years. Now the penalty for causing an accident while holding your cell phone just increased in Maryland.
Did you know that Jake's Law went in to effect for all drivers on October 1st? Jake's Law states that anyone who texts or reads messages while driving and causes an accident that kills or seriously injures another will face penalties of:
- $5,000 Fine
- 1 Year in Jail
- 12 Points on License
The solution is simple…Keep your phones:
- on silence while driving
- in your purse
- in your back pocket
- in your briefcase, backpack or your beach bag
That text or call can wait until you are safely at your destination.